Skip to main content

Undergraduate Student Awards and Honors

April Highlander was selected as Student Membership Officer for the Society for Implementation Research Collaboration (SIRC) in November 2016.

The Mortar Board National College Senior Honor Society presented a Gold Torch award to the Laurel chapter at West Virginia University. The Gold Torch is a national distinction conferred annually upon the most outstanding chapters of Mortar Board. Chapter president Yamini Anatula, a psychology and biology major at WVU, accepted the award at the Society’s national conference held this summer.

Shelby Boggs was a finalist for the title of Ms. Mountaineer at WVU (Fall 2016).

The 2016 class of the WVU McNair Scholar’s Program includes 6 psychology majors: Hailey Taylor, supervised by Christina Duncan, Shelby Boggs and Evan Dorsey, supervised by Natalie Shook, April Highlander, supervised by Cheryl McNeil, and Deja Clement and Rachael Petrie, supervised by Dan McNeil.

Ben Rein and Rebecca Spear were selected as winners of the 2016 Robert F. Munn Library Scholars Award from the University Libraries for their thesis projects.

Two psychology majors, Michael Phillips and Rebecca Speer, were recognized as Outstanding Seniors in April 2016.

Shelby Boggs, a psychology undergrad student who worked in D. Shook’s lab over the summer as part of theSURE program, and her poster at the 2015 Summer Undergraduate Research Symposium was the winner in the Social Sciences category. (August 2015)

The 16th cohort of WVU McNair Scholars includes four psychology majors: Hanah Conlan (Surry, N.H.),Kelsey McCoy (Lewisburg, W.Va.), Courtney McDonald (Inwood, W.Va.), and Regan Summers (Elkview, W.Va.). The McNair Scholars program is funded by the U.S. Department of Education in honor of engineer, scientist and NASA astronaut Ronald E. McNair, who was killed in the 1986 Challenger explosion.

Kaitlyn Akers, the first student from Montgomery’s Valley High School to win a Bucklew Scholarship, plans on majoring in psychology when she begins her collegiate experience at WVU in the fall of 2015. Kaitlyn was also selected as one of 5 WVU Foundation Scholars. (May 2015)

The West Virginia University Libraries selected Matthew Trickett as a 2015 Robert F. Munn Undergraduate Library Scholar for his research. Click here to read about Matt’s accomplishment. (May 2015)

Mary Bonnette, was a finalist for the 2015 WVU Student Employee of the Year Award. Mary was recognized for her outstanding work in the Department of Psychology. (April 2015)

Christanne Connelly, was awarded the 2015 Quin Curtis Outstanding Senior Award. (April 2015)

Christianne Connelly and Ali El-Khatib, were awarded the 2015 WVU Outstanding Senior Award. (April 2015)

Christianne ConnellyZachary PaitselRebecca SpeerTara Weese (majors) and Kathryn Baker (minor), were awarded the 2014-2015 Eberly Scholars. (April 2015)

Helena Lizon, was awarded the 2014-2015 Eberly Achievement Scholarship. (April 2015)

John Knopsnider, was awarded the 2014-2015 Eberly Family Arts and Sciences Scholarship. (April 2015)

Morgan Krieger, was awarded the 2014-2015 French-Hart Family Scholarship. (April 2015)

Claire Van Nosdall, was awarded the 2014-2015 Elizabeth Gorrell Harris Scholarship. (April 2015)

Benjamin Rein, was awarded the 2014-2015 George Jackson Endowment Arts and Sciences Scholarship. (April 2015)

Cheyenne Carpenter, and Rachael Petrie, were awarded the 2014-2015 Mary R. Laidley Memorial Scholarship. (April 2015)

Ali El-Khatib,Rachael Empson, were awarded the 2014-2015 John A. Malcomb Scholarship. (April 2015)

John ArtimezZachary Paitsel, and Tara Weese (double majors in Philosophy and Psychology), were awarded the 2014-2015 Daniel Boardman Purinton Philosophy Scholarship. (April 2015)

Kaitlin CarlinoAli El-KhatibLindsey IvesMadison MazzaJennifer OwsianyEmily RichmondMiranda Riffle, and Alyssa Smith are Psychology Seniors who were nominated to receive the Certificate of Achievement for Meritorios Performance in the Department of Psychology. (April 2015)